The Museum of Jewish History in Russia strives to reconstruct a comprehensive picture of Jewish life in the Russian Empire and the Soviet Union, with all its varied cultural, social, and political forms.

The museum’s varied collection allows for presentation of all Jewish religious and sub-ethnic groups – not only the Ashkenazim of Eastern Europe, but also Georgian and Mountain Jews of the Caucasus region and Bukharan Jews of Central Asia. In addition, it includes the Karaites as well as Russian sects that converted to Judaism, such as the Gers and Subbotniks. The materials in the museum’s collection reflect the particularities of each group’s culture and way of life as well as the distinctiveness of their historical evolution.

The museum portrays the phenomenon of Russian and Soviet Jewry within the appropriate context of connections to broader Russian culture, society, and government. At the same time, its collection also reflects the cultural-religious unity of Russian Jewry and the Jewish Diaspora of other East European countries, a reality that transcended local differences and state borders. The museum has dedicated a special section to the ties connecting the Jews of Russia and the USSR with the Holy Land and the State of Israel. These connections left a deep imprint on Jewish culture, art, and various forms of national ideology and sociopolitical life.

The museum’s exhibitions showcase a complete historical outlook on Russian Jewry that extends to processes of modernization and the political and cultural histories of various periods (both distant and recent).

 

This wide scope enables the museum to incorporate artefacts and documents that previously had not even been collected by museums, let alone exhibited. Examples include materials on the history of Jewish education and the Haskalah (Jewish Enlightenment), the most characteristic Jewish professions, Jewish agricultural colonies, interrelations with state authorities and political struggles, secular Jewish culture, music, and literature in both Yiddish and Hebrew, and Jewish participation in wars waged by the Russian Empire and the Soviet Union over the last two centuries. As a result, the themes of the exhibitions and the range of exhibited materials are significantly broader than in many other Jewish museums.

The main scholarly activity of the museum consists of research trips conducted by its staff in Belarus, Uzbekistan, Moldova, Romania, and Ukraine. These expeditions also represent one of the most important means of expanding the collections of the museum. In addition to acquiring exhibit items in surviving communities (such as in Romania and Ukraine) or from families who preserved objects of interest for generations (as in the Jewish neighbourhoods of Samarkand and Bukhara), the staff also develops personal relationships with the residents and collects legends, historical traditions, and stories that are recorded and archived. Such oral accounts can often help in understanding the original use of the items in question. At a time when the last material traces of these historical Jewish cultures are disappearing in front of our eyes, every research trip represents an investment into preserving that heritage. The Museum of Jewish History in Russia sees this as one of its most crucial tasks.

The exhibitions of the Museum of Jewish History in Russia may be divided into two types by subject matter:

Traditional culture, including established community lifestyles, education, charitable activities, characteristics of everyday life, the observation of religious mandates, and ‘holy work’ (i.e., decoration of synagogues and objects connected to religious worship).

Нistorical processes, comprehending Jewish interrelations with society and the authorities; Jewish contributions to the economy, culture, and science; and Jewish experience with land development and the attempt to create a Jewish autonomous region in the USSR.

The museum’s collection currently encompasses over 5,000 items, of which approximately 1,000 are on display.

The museum is a private venture, founded and directed by the writer and businessman Sergey Lvovich Ustinov.

Музей истории евреев в России стремится реконструировать целостную картину еврейской жизни на территории Российской империи и СССР во всем многообразии её культурных, социальных и политических форм

В коллекции музея представлены все еврейские религиозные и субэтнические группы — не только восточноевропейские ашкеназы, но и грузинские, горские и бухарские евреи, а также караимы и русские сектанты, принявшие иудаизм (геры и Субботники). Имеющиеся в музее материалы отражают особенности их быта и культуры, а также своеобразие их исторического развития.

Феномен российского и советского еврейства рассматривается в контексте его связей с российской культурой, обществом и государственной властью. В коллекции музея отражено и культурно-религиозное единство российского еврейства и еврейской диаспоры в других странах Восточной Европы, существовавшее поверх локальных различий и государственных границ. Особое место в музее отведено также демонстрации связей евреев России и СССР со Святой Землей и государством Израиль, которые оставили глубокий след в еврейской культуре, искусстве и различных формах национальной идеологии и общественно-политической жизни.

В МИЕВР развернута полная историческая перспектива, где находится место и процессам модернизации российского еврейства, и его политической, и культурной истории разных периодов, как значительно удаленных по времени, так и относительно недавних.

 

Это позволило включить в коллекцию музея такие артефакты и документы, которые до сих пор не только не экспонировались, но даже не включались в музейные собрания, например, по истории еврейского образования и Гаскалы (еврейского Просвещения), о наиболее характерных для евреев профессиях и еврейских земледельческих колониях, о взаимоотношениях с властью и политической борьбе, по светской еврейской культуре, музыке и литературе на идише и иврите, об участии евреев в войнах, которые вели Российская империя и Советский Союз на протяжении последних двух столетий. Таким образом, тематика экспозиции МИЕВРи спектр представленных в ней материалов значительно шире, чем во многих других еврейских музеях.

Существенным направлением научной работы являются экспедиции сотрудников МИЕВР в Белоруссию, Узбекистан, Молдавию, Румынию и Украину. Кроме того, эти экспедиции — один из важнейших способов пополнения коллекций. Приобретение экспонатов на месте в уцелевших общинах (как в Румынии или Украине), или в семьях, где интересные для музея предметы хранятся в течение жизни нескольких поколений (как в еврейских кварталах Самарканда и Бухары) – сопровождается контактами с населением, сбором легенд, исторических преданий, рассказов, которые записываются и архивируются. Устный рассказ зачастую помогает понять подлинное назначение предметов. В наше время, когда последние материальные следы еврейского культурного наследия исчезают на глазах, каждая музейная экспедиция, кроме всего прочего, – вклад в спасение этого наследия. В этом Музей истории евреев в России видит одно из своих главнейших предназначений.

Экспозицию Музея истории евреев в России можно условно разделить на две части:

Традиционная культура — сложившиеся формы существования общины, образование, благотворительность, особенности быта, соблюдение религиозных предписаний, «священная работа» (украшение синагог и предметов религиозного культа)

Исторические процессы — взаимоотношения евреев с обществом и властью; вклад евреев в развитие экономики, культуры и науки; опыт землеустройства евреев и попытка создания в СССР еврейской автономии

В коллекции нашего Музея свыше 5000 экспонатов, из которых в экспозиции представлено около 1000

 

Наш Музей частный, его учредителем и директором

является писатель, бизнесмен и общественный

деятель Сергей Львович Устинов.